Nancy Drew Collector Cover Poll #2

Here’s the second installment of the great Nancy Drew cover challenge! 🙂 Choose and vote for your favorite of the two! 🙂 I definitely prefer the more realistic looking stairs where you can almost feel the damp coolness and shivers of fear from the yellow hardcover over the surreal stairs in the collector cover (prettty dress, though.)

 

A) Collector's Cover for The Hidden Staircase

A) Collector’s Cover for The Hidden Staircase

Nancy Drew #2 The Hidden Staircase by Carolyn Keene

B) Yellow Hardcover for The Hidden Staircase

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Disclaimer: Please feel free to ignore the random ads that pop up on the blog. I don’t choose them or have any say about what ones they are since this is a free blog. Most of the ads are pointless and irrelevant junk in my opinion.

19 thoughts on “Nancy Drew Collector Cover Poll #2

  1. Oh, oh…that’s nightmarish! 😮 She’s floating up the stairs like a ghastly ghost! 😮 That’s not Nancy Drew! 😮 And those stairs! They aren’t like a spiral staircase (they’re cool 🙂 )…they’re like something out of a horror film from the 1920’s or somethin’! Ugh! 😡 This isn’t a Nancy Drew cover, imo, it’s a…sorry, can’t think of a nice way to say it… I hate it. I like intriguing. I’ve watched some horror movies. But this cover just isn’t acceptable as a Nancy Drew cover, imo. 😡 Ugh! 😡

    The yellow-trimmed hardcover depicts everything it should. 😎 It fits the story. 😎 The stairs from underground upwards is made of ancient stone, so cool a setting and reaching up to a mysterious discovery. 😎 I love it! 😀

    Love ’em polls! 😀 Thanks! 😀

    • It is, isn’t it? So what do you really think of it, Mary? 😉 Don’t be shy, now! 😉 I’m kidding you – and I agree with you! 🙂 I think the dress is pretty, but it is awfully odd the way she is going up the stairs – well, like you said! 😮 I’m always fascinated by different kinds of stairs, spiral, etc., and those just aren’t realistic and intriguing.

      Exactly! Nicely said about the stairs on the yellow hardcover – eloquent! 😎 I love it, too! 😀

      Awesome! 🙂 No problem! 🙂

  2. A) I agree that it’s a pretty dress on the collector cover. 🙂 Other than that, I think it’s quite awful – considering what it’s supposed to be depicting. It reminds me of an abstract art cartoon in which the character got clobbered over the head & couldn’t see things clearly – everything was weird, swirling & odd. I don’t think they chose well for this cover. At all.

    B) I agree that the yellow hardcover is more realistic. 😎 When I read a Nancy Drew book, I know I’m reading something that could actually have taken place. 😎 Real mystery. I’m on an adventure with my friends. 🙂 The details are great on this cover!!!!! 😀 They did a great job selecting this cover. 😎

    Appreciating the good things,
    Lily

    • Yep! 🙂 Lol – wow, Lily, you hit it right on the head with your description! 😛 😆 Lololololol! 😆

      Yep! 😎 Exactly. 😎 You said it. 🙂 And you want to be on that adventure with your friends. That’s the way I am about reading. 😎 Symbolism can be fine, in some instances. Yet with this, I agree with everyone saying the yellow hardcover is the best choice for the book. 😎

      • Thanks, Ann! 🙂

        Yeah, I see the symbolism, but Nancy Drew, as you know, is a straight forward kind of girl. 😎 & that’s why (well, one of the reasons why) this collector cover doesn’t work. The yellow hardcover is timelessly cool & intriguing. 😎

        Appreciating the good things,
        Lily

        • You’re welcome, Lily! 🙂

          That’s true. I don’t think it fits for Nancy, either. Yep, absolutely about the yellow hardcover. 😎

  3. Like you said, Ann, the dress is lovely; the coloring is nice as well on the collector cover. 🙂 However, I don’t know what they were thinking when this cover was chosen; it looks paranormal rather than truly intriguing, I believe.

    The yellow hardcover is a design (and superior coloring 😉 ) that immediately brings the reader into this intriguing mystery!! 🙂 I like the setting as well as her lovely and stylish clothes. 🙂 This cover is a you-are-there kind of cover (as opposed to the you-don’t-want-to-be-there kind of setting that the collector cover features).

    Thank you, Ann!! 🙂 Callie

    • Oh yes, I agree, I do like the colors of the collector cover. It does look odd with how she’s traversing the stairs.

      Absolutely – you want to check out the stairs and see where they lead and investigate!!!! 😎 Definitely like you said about you-are-there vs you-don’t-want-to-be-there – good one, Callie! 😎 Realistic is much more exciting and fascinating! 😎

      No problem, Callie! 🙂

  4. Oh. I feel a little dizzy looking at that collector cover! 😛 I don’t care for the hat. But I sure hope she makes it up those crazy stairs! It’s almost like looking upward in a warped out lighthouse.

Please leave a reply! Thanks! :)

